Movie Review: No 60. A Clockwork Orange

Standard
Movie Review: No 60. A Clockwork Orange

I came here to drink milk and kick ass… and I’ve just finished my milk.

Ok, that’s not a quote from this movie… but it should be!

My challenger, Tara, came over last night to join me in watching the last of the imdb Top 100 movies. ‘A Clockwork Orange’ was her choice for the final film. I’d just like to point that out because I do not care to take responsibility for the infliction of that gruesomeness upon my otherwise happy home.

‘A Clockwork Orange’ is like the X-rated version of Thomas the Tank Engine…

Or, maybe, a juiced-up version of ‘The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers’ where all the Rangers are off-white and wearing codpieces.

The soundtrack is the best part of the film, featuring ‘Singin’ in the Rain‘ (a Top 100 gem) and Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, ‘Ode to Joy’.

Frankly, I would have rather watched ‘Beethoven’s 2nd‘ than the horror that is ‘A Clockwork Orange’. I can certainly sympathise with the main character, Alex DeLarge, who has his eyelids clamped open and is forced to watch graphic scenes of violence and gang rape. All that was missing in my case was the lid-clamps. I still feel sick now just thinking about it.

Alex: I’m going to be sick. Get something for me to be sick in!

And how is anyone meant to prove their sanity when their psychiatrist looks like ‘Thing 1’ and/or ‘Thing 2’?!

clockwork psychiatrist

I don’t get it. I don’t get what would compel people to jump on the imdb website after seeing this and rate it, on average, 8.4 stars.

Call me ignorant if you like, I’m fine with that. Just like I’m fine with the fact that I no longer waste my time watching TV news. It’s just designed to shock and appall. I’d rather watch something that makes me happy.

I’m glad that I had this challenge to watch all of the Top 100 movies. It’s exposed me to lots of new things (or they’ve exposed themselves to me, as the case may be). I am more glad, however, that I finally get to choose my own movies again!

Thanks for the challenge Tara! Here are a few quick stats to summarise my movie watching experience:

And this one? 4 pumpkins and a big fat tick!

Have you seen ‘A Clockwork Orange’? Do you agree with my review? Let me know in the comments below.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Clockwork Orange Film Review - The Eradicator Reviews

  2. It’s an awful movie and made purely to shock (my opinion). I remember when my daughter had to watch it for part of her uni degree and she felt physically sick – yikes. I really don’t know why they make things like this when there are so many great stories out there 😯

What do you think?

