Movie Review: No 3. The Godfather: Part II

Standard
Movie Review: No 3. The Godfather: Part II

♫ Been spending most our lives living in the gangsta’s paradise ♫
♫ Keep spending most our lives living in the gangsta’s paradise ♫

Well, I might as well embrace it right? The imdb Top 100 list is certainly a gangsta’s paradise… and I feel like I’ve been spent most (of the past year of) my life living in it!

I’m 29 now, but will I live to see 30 (oh)
The way things are goin’ I don’t know 

And all this time I thought a Fredo was a delicious frog – turns out it’s not a frog at all… it’s a rat.

Michael Corleone: If anything in this life is certain, if history has taught us anything, it is that you can kill anyone.

As you can see, I’m starting to get a little delirious from reviewing so many films. I’ve been accused of producing more and more scathing reviews over time as my senses dull to the cinematic experience. It’s probably true. I’m over it. I’m done. I’ve currently got a burst blood vessel in my left eyeball to prove it. I’ve just got ‘A Clockwork Orange’ to go and then I swear I’m off gangster movies for life. I can’t wait to return to the happy world of children’s movies and bubblegum romances. It’s clearly where I belong.

So, yes, at 3 hours this movie was far too long for me to say I enjoyed it. I didn’t. It was hard work for me. In fact, I almost fell asleep halfway through on first watching (although I will blame my cousin’s extremely comfortable recliners for that one).

But, you know, it’s not all about me. I fully accept that, at a different time and place, I might have enjoyed this movie. It’s not Francis Ford Coppola’s fault that the movie watching part of my brain is full. It’s certainly not Al Pacino’s fault. Now there is an actor, ladies and gentlemen. It is too long though. It’s way too long. You could edit the whole reel of film with a spray of Tommy Gun bullets and probably still come out with a decent story.

And is it better than the original Godfather? I don’t know. I really don’t think so and it probably doesn’t matter. If anything, they are exactly on par.

Now, if I can switch to the objective side of my brain for just a moment maybe I can produce something resembling an actual review. Let’s see…

  • Visual appeal – It’s a dark and brooding film, but well shot.
  • Originality – Well, no. It’s a sequel after all. In the scheme of things though, I think the Godfather storyline was a relatively original one.
  • The quality of the story – It was a brilliant story, well written and well told (if a little long).
  • Acting ability – Faggedaboudit!
  • Did it hold my attention throughout – Well I fell asleep… so…
  • Did it make me think or feel something – Apart from sleepy? Well, yes, it did.There are plenty of stirring scenes, particularly those involving Fredo.
  • Did I like it – In spite of everything, yes.

I liked it, but in my state of delirium the practicalities of “liking” this film centred more around recognising more Simpsons references, brushing up on my Cuban history, and comparing it to ‘Arrested Development’.

At another time and another place I would give this film 9 pumpkins. Right now I just want to give it the kiss of death.

Have you seen ‘The Godfather: Part II’? Do you agree with my review? Let me know in the comments below.

6 responses »

  1. I’m very disappointed that I hold some small part in you disliking this. I’m burning the recliners. I wish we had watched this and the first one back to back way back last July, when your mind wasn’t full of gangster mush.

    Sad Face.

    • I did like it, I just didn’t *enjoy* it. Does that even make sense, because I’m not sure anymore?!

      In any event, I gave it a 9. It doesn’t get much better than that, so chin up buttercup!

  2. Pingback: Reading Digest: The Homer Edition | Dead Homer Society

What do you think?

