There’s nothing like old friends to make you feel young

Standard
There’s nothing like old friends to make you feel young

It’s apt that my twentieth challenge completed should be the twentieth from the list: ‘Share one last weekend with the Canada girls in your twenties’!

Would you believe it has been over 8 years since we all last managed to be in the same place at the same time?! I guess it’s harder when you don’t have the lure of free drinks and dodgy early naughties pop music to draw us in, but we did the math and realised the last time we all managed to be in the same place at the same time it was for mine and India’s 21st birthdays! There have been a few occasions where we managed to get three of us together, but we obviously had such a great experience on our travels that we just haven’t stopped since. With homes spanning Cairns to Melbourne, it’s no surprise that even when we’re in the same country it’s not always convenient for the four of us to catch up.

Like all old friends, however, it doesn’t matter how long you’ve been apart…

BondiHow could you not love these beautiful women?!

I still have an old photo of the four of us sitting on my dressing table, and I honestly believe that we don’t look so different from the “good old days”. Sure, these days we talk about marriage, mortgages and babies more than we talk about the latest run-in with our beloved Minglewoods staff, but deep down we’re still the same fun-loving chicks that can make even the World’s most straight-laced city a fun place to be.

We’ve all gone down different paths since uni, but the thing I love most about my Canada girls is that they’re all go-getters with a complete understanding that life is what you make it. Spending time in their presence is uniquely inspirational. How else do you explain the fact that – several bottles in on a Saturday night – we came away, not with headaches… but with a killer business plan and, at least in my case, a new zest for life.

The best thing about old friends is that you can be your old (young) self around them. I, much like my little brother, love a good drunken D&M. Sometimes I feel like I left my idealistic, feminist self back in my uni days… but all it really seems to take is a heated, hazy debate with old friends to help you remember the things you once thought were so important.

Who run the World? (Girls).

Seriously though, I believe that youth is a state of mind, and as long as I have these women in my life I will always have a direct line back to my youthful self. I can only hope that we find more and more excuses to catch up in future years. Thankfully, I won’t have to wait too long to experience it again, with two weddings on the horizon later this year that we will hopefully all be present and accounted for.

Sarah, I can’t thank you enough for creating a reason for us to all get together, and I can’t thank the three of you enough for sacrificing a weekend (and a few pennies) to the gods of reminiscence!

We will all get older, and we might all get wiser, but whatever you do – promise me you’ll never change!

Do you have old friends who make you feel young? When was the last time you caught up with them?

2 responses »

  1. Youth is definitely a state of mind, Amanda! When I came back to live at the farm six months ago I caught up with friends I hadn’t seen for 12 years and NOTHING has changed! I’m absolutely loving it 😀

    • I find there’s something about farms in particular that brings out my inner child too! Not sure why but it sounds like you’ve hit the double-whammy 🙂

What do you think?

