Busy eating frogs

Standard
Busy eating frogs

Since returning home from my travels to India and Nepal I have been extremely busy eating frogs.

I arrived back on Australian soil at around 1am last Wednesday after a journey of more than 30 hours. I arrived, not in my home of Sydney, but in Melbourne, where a mere 7 hours later I was due at a training conference. It was at this conference, through the bleary-eyed fog, that I learned about the self-help strategy of eating frogs.

Now, I won’t go into the details of the two day conference, partly because it remains an understandable blur to me, but also partly because I don’t want to bore you to tears and/or sleep. Suffice it to say that the highlight was watching my Dad take the stage at dinner for a rousing rendition of ‘Waltzing Matilda’ (I will leave it to you to decide whether I witnessed this from my seat or behind him on stage).

Before you start worrying about the health implications of amphibian consumption, I should point out that I’m talking about the figurative, rather than slimy, kind. It all has to do with Mark Twain and this quote: “Eat a live frog first thing in the morning and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day”. It’s a fair call. A whole book has since been written, in homage to this graphic imagery, on the topic of conquering procrastination.

Of course, I haven’t read the book (‘Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time’ by Brian Tracy). Ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat. What I have been doing is following the basic principle as shared by word of mouth, aiming to complete my most difficult task at the start of each day, leaving myself free to enjoy the far simpler tasks that inevitably follow. Being ridiculously busy, the strategy has helped me wade through the mountains of work that awaited my return and still managing to plow through my Top 30 list.

With that said, and in recognition of my busyness, I will write about my experiences in India and Nepal soon, but for now I will let my travelling companion’s account speak on my behalf.

In the meantime I’d like to mention a few other list-related things that have happened since my return.

First of all, there was the horrible incident at the Boston Marathon. As if I needed another excuse to pike out of the Sydney Half Marathon! My size-too-small event singlet arrived in the mail while I was away and it’s sitting on my dresser mocking me as I type. I have done ZERO training since my 14 km effort over a month ago and the Sydney Half Marathon is just a month from tomorrow! I suppose I shouldn’t complain. If the bombing has taught me anything it’s that it can get a whole lot worse than sore joints and blisters.

In happier news, on Tuesday night I auditioned for ‘Millionaire Hot Seat’. The process involves a test of 30 multiple choice Millionaire-like questions followed by an interview and thorough form completion (if you’re lucky/smart enough to get a decent score in the test). I scored 20/30 which was enough to secure me an interview – scraping through by just a few points (although I’d like to point out that the highest score in the room was something like 26). I don’t remember all of the questions, but if you can tell me: which Sex & the City character was the lawyer, who directed the last 4 Harry Potter films, the square root of 100,000,000, which iconic Australian product chemist Cyril P. Callister invented, and which animal makes a baby “squab”, then you’re probably well on your way to an interview too.

I consider myself a bit of a game show expert after my appearance on The Price is Right. I was therefore well and truly up on what would be required to get my butt in that hot seat, specifically – the manifestation of a harmless form of mental illness. In this case, that meant dressing up in one of my beautiful Indian kurtas (I was the best dressed there, I’m telling you), completing every form in pink pen, and smashing my interview with tales of the ‘Top 30 Countdown‘. I heard lots of amazing stories from other similarly-prepared people. I heard about a guy who survived a skydive with a failed parachute. I heard a sob story about a woman’s parents’ immigration from Lebanon and her own brush with death surviving being hit by a car – twice. There were cat ladies and bag ladies and one woman who claimed a “black belt in origami”. There was even a guy who confessed that his nickname “27%” came from the time he was talked into a naked photo shoot for Cleo magazine which included a “hot or not” poll that scored him a total of…. you guessed it!

Getting your story out in less than a minute is a real challenge… well it was a challenge for everyone else because I was the only person invited to keep talking after my minute was up! Sure, that was probably because the girl interviewing me looked about my age and took a particular interest (I wouldn’t be surprised if she started a list of her own and I hope she does!) Nevertheless it’s gotta be a good sign right? Here’s hoping I get a look-in on the show and preferably before my Top 30 Challenge ends on 1 July! After all, I’ve still got some court-side tickets to fund and my recent lottery win probably won’t even get me a “small” soda!

If you’re reading this Millionaire selection peeps, I promise to act exactly as bizarre as you need me to be to make your show interesting! Give a third-life-crisis sufferer a chance!

Meanwhile, I’ve still got 12 movies to watch and 10 other challenges to complete. I would be lying if I said I felt confident. I guess all I can do is keep eating those frogs and hope for the best!

What would you say about yourself in a 1-minute ‘Millionaire’ interview?

9 responses »

  1. What would I say ???? “Ain’t nobody got time for dat”. You need to provide the hyperlink to that youtube clip in the blog. Seriously.

  2. You’re a lot braver than I am going on a show like that, Amanda. I’m sure I’d get a mental block! (in fact, ‘mental block’ would be my one minute millionaire interview) 😉

What do you think?

