Sucking it in for Fat Tuesday

Standard
Sucking it in for Fat Tuesday

Happy Mardi Gras everyone!

Yes, it’s the first weekend in March, which means Sydney’s glitter-covered streets are now quiet after a long night of celebrations and protestations from the LGBT community.

This weekend seemed to me like the perfect time to tick off Top 30 challenge number 29, ‘Participate in a photo shoot on the rocks of a beach dressed as Ariel from ‘The Little Mermaid”.

And oh yes, there is evidence.

It was only about two weeks ago that I learned for the first time that The Little Mermaid’ was actually a gay allegory written by Hans Cristian Andersen (at least, so goes the theory):

Some theorize that The Little Mermaid was written as a love letter by Hans Christian Andersen to Edvard Collin. This theory is based on a letter Andersen wrote to Collin, upon hearing of Collin’s engagement to a young woman, around the same time that the Little Mermaid was written. In this letter, Andersen wrote ”I long for you as though you were a beautiful Calabrian girl.” Some have interpreted this sentence as a declaration of Andersen’s homosexual love for Collin. – Wikipedia

So, what better time to don the tail and wig than Mardi Gras weekend? In hindsight, I could’ve forgone the massive lunch of fish & chips beforehand (now I know why models starve themselves!)

I mean seriously, let’s do the math. If “the camera adds 10 pounds” and I’ve already eaten 40 Quarter Pounders this year… that’s a whole lot more to love at mermaid time! My loving husband-to-be was kind enough to go on “fat roll watch” so I was able to tuck most of it in :/

Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not so kind with her assistance. I can see that models really don’t enjoy the glamour we think they do. Wind and rain are not the model’s friends (especially the wig-wearing model’s friends!) Sure, a bit of a grey sky can result in some beautiful shots, but having polyester hair whip into your mouth at intervals is less than ideal. I can also pass on the very sage advice that it’s not safe to run through rock pools in the rain. I am suffering almost as much pain as the day after wakeboarding, after very un-elegantly slipping, falling, and hitting my be-gingered noggin on a rock (my sister informs me it was hilarious).

The one good thing about the weather is that it keeps the punters at bay. We were observed by just one random person and, considering there was a surf carnival in full swing along the main part of the beach, that was pretty lucky. Then again, I am about to post the photos online so I don’t know why that should bother me (maybe because I get to choose the images that appear online!) When we returned from the rocky outcrop, a very newly married couple were standing ready to begin their own photo shoot. Luckily by then the rain had cleared a little. I offered a quick “don’t run on the rocks” before high-tailing it out of there (so to speak).

Anyway, for those who were polite enough to “look at the card before opening the present”, I won’t hold you back a moment longer from enjoying the ridiculous photos.

A big thanks to James for quite easily the most ridiculous challenge on the list. I hope you enjoyed Mardi Gras and that your head hurts less than mine this morning!

What did you think of James’ contribution to the list? Let us know in the comments below!

13 responses »

What do you think?

