My Top 30 Inspirational Friends and Family (1-10)

Standard
My Top 30 Inspirational Friends and Family (1-10)

When I started this ‘Top 30 Challenge’, I explained that I did not set these challenges for myself. Instead I went to “30 of my most inspirational friends and family” and asked them to do the challenging instead!

It seems only fitting, then, to explain why I find these people so inspirational. Here is the list (ranked in order of who was fastest to reply to my original request!) Today I’m writing about the first 10 people who responded, with the others to come later…

  1. Andy S (FH): Get engaged to me
    Andy is the love of my life, so of course I’m going to be a huge fan! But more than anyone else in the World, Andy inspires me too. He has this inner drive that he uses to make his life whatever he wants it to be. He inspires me daily to be the very best version of myself that I can be and to enjoy life. What a catch, amirite?
  2. Dane L (Little bro): Run a half marathon
    Dane is one smart cookie. He has spent around a fifth of his lifetime now studying to be a doctor and just recently it all became official! Of course, that is inspirational in itself – but that’s not the only reason I find my little bro inspiring. The thing, I guess, that inspires me the most is that he did all this with barely a peep of complaint. He just worked his butt off day after day until he got there. What a trooper!
  3. Kevin L (Dad): Finish your scuba diving course
    My Dad is the very definition of a self-made man. He is creative and perpetually positive and a total workhorse. These traits have led him to create an amazing life for himself and his family. More recently, these traits led him to beat the hell out of a very serious cancer scare. A lesser man would have buckled at the first hurdle. My Dad is still going strong!
  4. Bronwyn L (Mum): Catch a flight somewhere random at the last minute with just your handbag and a credit card
    If my Dad is the definition of a self-made man, then my Mum is the definition of a self-made woman. She has never shied away from hard work and she’s the kind of person who will create her own opportunities long before opportunity has the chance to knock. I’m sure it is my Mum’s influence more than any other that gave me my “go-getter” personality and I wouldn’t have it any other way.
  5. Ryan L (Big bro): Catch, kill and cook an animal of some variety
    As is his brotherly duty, Ryan has been inspiring me since birth. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then irritation is a likely byproduct of that flattery in young siblings. Back then I wanted to prove I could be as strong or smart as him (I usually failed of course). These days my admiration more closely follows how amazingly “together” his life is, and what a fantastic family he has created for himself.
  6. Juliette W (Uni friend): Start a blog
    The thing that most inspires me about Juliette is her entrepreneurial mind. She is always coming up with amazing business ideas (so it makes sense that we met while studying business at uni), but the best part is that she actually follows through on her ideas! Juliette has also won the most competitions of any person I know, which just provides further evidence of her “can do” attitude.
  7. Alana H (School friend): Swim with a dolphin
    We’ve often said that Alana is “living the dream”. Working as a dolphin trainer at Sea World and now married to a (lovely) professional footballer, it seems Alana really has it all! The reason I find her inspirational, however, is not because of what she has, but how hard she worked to get it. She studied hard, moved away from her friends and family, and worked her butt off to get that dream life. I couldn’t think of a more deserving person.
  8. Wendy G (Godmother): Book a trip to India and Nepal
    My Mum’s family is very close-knit and as a result I’ve been lucky enough to become quite close with all my aunties. My Aunty Wendy and I share the dubious honour of “middle child” placement in our families, so perhaps that’s why we seem to share a similar outlook on life too. Is it too cheesy if I say “I’d like to be like Aunty Wendy when I grow up”? It’s probably too late because I think I already am.
  9. Nick S (School friend): Go skydiving
    Nick is one of those people you expect to read about one day in the business section of the newspaper. Nick is the epitome of self-determination and hard work and I fully expect an invitation to the mansion I’ve no doubt he will one day inhabit. My favourite bit though? He’s fun and silly too. And they said you couldn’t have it all!
  10. Karen B (Oldest friend): Go to an AFL game
    Those who know Karen will know she’s half the woman she used to be… in the best possible way. Apart from being a wonderful person to be around and a resolutely loyal friend, Karen has inspired so many more people than just me. Her internal drive and motivation, which saw her drastically improve her health and lease on life, is nothing short of awe-inspiring. And like the Energiser Bunny, she is still going and going and going.

Aren’t I lucky to have so many amazing people in my life? Of course, this list only scratches the surface of a much larger circle of amazing friends and family that each inspire me in their own ways. Some of these people I see on a regular basis. Others I can go without seeing for years and suddenly see again, only to realise how little of an effect time has on the relationship. And, if that wasn’t enough, in September this year I double that all up when I marry into the wonderful Scotland/Kelly clan!

Who inspires you?

3 responses »

What do you think?

