Guest Post: Go diving. Fun with no pressure.

Standard
Guest Post: Go diving. Fun with no pressure.

By Kevin L.

You can go pretty much anywhere you like in the world. It might take a bit of money and time but there’s not much in your way beyond that.

However, there are a couple of places that present something a little more troublesome in the way of barriers.

For one thing, going into outer space is kind of out of the question for most people. This is not to say it can’t be done. Richard Branson is working on it but it takes quite a bit more money than you or I have in our back pockets. We can fly at lower altitudes more easily but space remains out of reach for the average person.

Another place that is more challenging to visit is under the ocean. I mean, you can’t just GO there and visit. At least not without the right gear and the right training. Most people never go there. Not in the way that allows you to actually visit the place. You know, sit about and admire the view and that kind of thing.

Yet, that too is possible and accessible for most people. It’s just that not so many of us do it.

However, I want to tell you that on the scale of adventurous challenges this rates right up there in my view. It is like visiting another world. Everything is different.

I remember the first time I ever went diving. I laughed from enjoyment (not narcosis) so much that I used up my oxygen faster than everyone else and had to return to the boat sooner. Later on I did the training and discovered the magic and wonder of underwater worlds and since that time I have dived with sharks so close I could touch them, manta rays, octopus, turtles, sea snakes, other kinds of rays and fish of just about every kind. I’ve dived among coral, in and through rock canyons, gullies and underwater cliffs. I’ve shared that joy with my two sons but not with my daughters and that seems a) wrong and b) dumb.

One of these days I would love to all go diving together and experience it all together.

That’s why I set Amanda the challenge of finishing her diving course. She and Claire started it some time ago but I think the motivation just wasn’t there. They both needed a spark and the 30 B4 30 challenge was just the thing.

As a bucket list filler it seems ideal to me and now she has met the challenge. She’s a qualified recreational diver and we can blow bubbles at 30m together now. We can swim with sharks so close we can touch them. We can touch octopus and feel their clinging suckers together. We can watch turtles sleeping under rock ledges and fish eat out of our hands. Together!

All we have to do now is plan it.

What did you think of Kevin’s contribution to the list? Let us know in the comments below!

What do you think?

