Guest Post: The List – a Halftime Report

Standard
Guest Post: The List – a Halftime Report

By Andy S.

When Amanda first mentioned she was doing “The List” I was so happy for her. I believe life’s there to be lived to the fullest and having a tick off list with a deadline is the best way to motivate yourself into getting out there and trying something new.

Speaking of trying something new, this is my first ever blog post and to be honest it’s not as easy as Amanda makes it look! As I’m sure you’re aware by now, Amanda’s an amazing writer and loves sharing her thoughts and feelings with the world. In many ways I’m the complete opposite in those regards – but I’ll give it my best shot.

The list has been great for both of us in way too many ways to mention. From getting in shape and pushing our limits together training for the half marathon, experimenting in the kitchen while hosting a homemade maccas party, volunteering at an animal refuge, to trying something fun and exciting like wakeboarding. Wakeboarding for the first time was the highlight for me so far. We didn’t realise how full on wakeboarding is! Our backs and legs were sore for days afterwards but the pain was well worth the glory of standing up for the first time, faceplanting and consuming litres of water – all in quick succession. I’m sure the water level of the Hawkesbury went down somewhat that day. It’s just way too hard to keep your mouth closed with a huge grin on your face.

I suppose the most nerve-wracking list item for me was the first one, asking Amanda to marry me. We were up in Cairns on holiday and had just finished the perfect day out – snorkelling on the outer reef, watching a reef shark cruise by us in the depths, and retiring back to our hotel overlooking the pool with some yummy Thai and a great bottle of wine. I’d been waiting for the perfect moment to pop the question the whole trip and that evening turned out to be perfect. The funny thing is we both can’t exactly remember what we said to each other. I think it was a combination of nerves, emotions and the fact that the wine was a little too good! Regardless of what was said exactly the recipe of love consisted of one knee on the ground, plenty of “I love you”s, an “I want to be with you forever” and a few tears thrown in for good measure. The end result was she’s made me the happiest guy in the world and I can’t wait to marry her in September.

Some people don’t need motivation to get out there and try new things – I envy those people. I think most people (I for one) sometimes need a push in the right direction. Having seen firsthand how well the list has worked to motivate us both so far, if you haven’t done so already, I strongly urge you to create a list of your own of things that scare you, excite you, things you used to do as a kid and miss doing, or things you’ve been meaning to do for ages and never gotten around to doing them. Write them down, preferably somewhere you’ll see every day or somewhere where others see them also, so they can help motivate you or get involved as well. Why not start a blog or Facebook group, and share your list with your friends? Who knows you may just find a new sport, hobby or activity you wish you found years earlier and a bunch of friends who’ve been waiting for you to join them. At the same time while living it up, you’re motivating your friends and family to do the same. It’s a win-win situation I tells ya!

Being a bit of an amateur philosopher myself, I reckon ones purpose in life is to do the things you want to do – things you find fun, exciting, interesting and things that make you happy. Sometimes not everyone will agree with your choices in life. They may try to talk you out of doing something you love for whatever reason, but staying focused on what interests you is the path to happiness. Keeping true to yourself and just “doing it” is what seems to work for me in my life. As a direct or indirect result you’ll inspire others to do the same – the end result is spreading happiness. This is exactly what Amanda’s done with her list. She’s living life to the fullest and inspiring others to do the same and I’m so happy to be a part of it. Bring on the final 15 challenges!

What did you think of Andy’s contribution to the list? Let us know in the comments below!

4 responses »

What do you think?

