Easy peasy no teeveesy

Standard
Easy peasy no teeveesy

47 days. That’s how long it’s been since I last watched TV.

That means there are 15 days left to go.

Quite a few people have asked me how I’m faring at this particular challenge, so I thought I’d give you all an update.

I wish I had more to tell you than “it’s going fine”. Sure, I intentionally chose the non-ratings period to minimise temptation, but it hasn’t tempted me anywhere near as much as I might have thought.

The biggest issue I face is the inconvenience of being in a room where I am forced to sit facing a TV – or where a TV is glaring loudly in the background – and having to try to ignore it. They are monstrously difficult things to ignore. They’re specifically designed to get your attention, which is a big part of why, I guess, we all stay glued to them long after we know we should  tear ourselves away and return to reality. But it would be as true if the TV were showing something I love or just showing the boring old tennis; it’s not that I want to watch what’s on at all, it’s just hard to ignore big, bright moving pictures, loud voices and music.

But then again I’ve managed OK so far. While at a client site in the city this morning, I inadvertently overheard Kochie ranting about boozing up on Australia Day, but I swiftly muted the TV and not too much damage was done.

I guess you might well perceive me to have a bit of a TV addiction. I talk about it a fair bit I guess, and I quote it even more. As I mentioned before, I have a Simpsons or Seinfeld quote for just about every life situation, but do bear in mind that I’ve accumulated a brain full of quotes throughout my entire lifetime.

Homer: Every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home wine-making course and I forgot how to drive?

I kind of collect quotes I guess – like coins or stamps – only they’re much more fun to collect because they can be enjoyed with friends.

I’m definitely not addicted to TV. It seemed to me I went cold turkey with no problems whatsoever (then again, as soon as I thought the word “turkey” just now, my brain started singing “Oh Margey… you came and you found me a turkey…” so maybe it’s not as clear-cut a case as I thought).

It would at least be fair to say that I love TV. I love the many, many great times it has given me. I’m certainly not of the opinion that a production has to be feature-length to still be classed as quality entertainment. I love it so much that my fancy dress 21st birthday party was themed around TV (and movies).

Which brings me to the real point of today’s blog post. You see I love TV and I love dress up parties. I also love it when people comment on my blog posts because it lets me know that I’m not just talking to myself…

Jerry Seinfeld: I can’t go to a bad movie by myself. What, am I gonna make sarcastic remarks to strangers?

So, that’s why I’d like to invite you to this new thing I just invented. It’s called a “Fancy Dress Blog Party”. All the cool kids are doing it (or, I hope you will be, as soon as I’ve finished explaining it)…

Since we can’t actually see each other, there’s no need to wear a costume. Instead, you just “come as” your favourite TV quote! In other words, simply go straight to the comments section on the bottom of the page and let us know your favourite TV quote (or favourites if you can’t decide)! Don’t forget to let other commenters know what you think of their favourites too. It’s Friday after all and what better opportunity for pointless water cooler conversation?

Hope to see you in the comments!

26 responses »

  1. …. Where do I start Amanda my brain just exploded.
    Seinfeld: ohhhh very gracious
    I’ll call a plumber right now!
    Does anyone know a marine biologist
    Will & grace: “abs & pecsolutely”
    Modern family: ‘that’s an awful lot of negativity from some that went back for thirds of my tandoori turkey’
    ‘I wanna dance…I wanna dance for mum baby’

  2. I left a big comment before And lost it… Anyway u know this is One of favorite things I don’t know what to choose

    Seinfeld: Kramer “do u have any conceivable reason for gettin up in the morning? George “I like to get the daily news”

    Does anybody know a marine biologist?

    Moden family: “that’s an awful lot of angst for somebody who went back for thirds of my tandoori turkey!”

    • Haha that reminds me of this one:

      Marge (on her gambling problem): You know, you’re right, Homer. Maybe I should get some professional help.
      Homer: No, no, that’s too expensive. Just don’t do it any more.

      Actually, the gambling problem episode is FULL of classic quotes come to think of it! “Bart, I don’t wanna alarm you but there may be a boogeyman or boogeyMEN inside the house”.

  3. Don’t forget the classic Basil Fawlty “Don’t mention the war.. I did it once but I think I got away with it”
    and Manuel “You put Basil in the rataouille..!!”

What do you think?

