The Awakening

Standard
The Awakening

At approximately 9.30 this morning, Andy and I set off to complete Top 30 Challenge number 13, ‘Go wakeboarding’!

As previously mentioned, the challenge was set by my soon-to-be sister-in-law, Ally.

I have to admit, I was pretty nervous when we left, and it didn’t get much better over the hour and a half drive to the Hawksbury River takeoff point.

I don’t know why I was so nervous. I guess I’ve had my fair share of unco sporting moments and I figured this would be no different. With each passing McMansion I became more and more frightened. Then the rain started, and for some reason I took that as a bad sign.

But I shouldn’t have been nervous at all. The weather conditions were perfect. The rain clouds parted just for us, leaving enough cover to stave off the burning Summer sun. The water was warm and pleasant, and our instructor knew exactly what he was doing.

Andy went first and, to no surprise to me whatsoever, he completely aced it. He even tried a few one-handed moves with what appeared to be the greatest of ease.

Then it came my turn.

Apart from a rather embarrassing moment where I dropped the rope and knocked the instructor on his butt, it went pretty smoothly. I did it! I stood up! More than once too (and on my first go :))

It turns out wakeboarding isn’t so hard – it’s just really REALLY exhausting. Even now as I type this my upper arms are shrieking in pain from just a few moments of glory. It wasn’t long before I tired in the water and could no longer keep hold of the rope (I didn’t help that I nailed myself on my first run and had a headache for the rest of the day!)

As you can see from the photos, however, I had an absolute blast. It was an interesting challenge for me because it’s probably something I would never have gotten around to otherwise – and I’m so glad I did. If only to know that it was possible for me.

To check me out in action (complete with epic stack) see the video here.

When we emerged from the water, the actor John Wood was waiting on shore to greet us. Well, maybe not to greet us – maybe to just check out the view of the river. Or maybe he was tracking a Mount Thomas murderer? Of maybe I just drank too much of the Hawksbury today.

Whatever it was, it is now with drooping eyes and the twinge of what will no doubt emerge as searing muscle burn tomorrow, that I proudly tick off my fourteenth list item. With less than six months to go and more than half of the challenges remaining I’m going to have to pick up my pace! For now, it’s bedtime.

A big “Happy Birthday” shout out to my Dad today. Next year we’ll take you with us!

2 responses »

What do you think?

