Serenity Now!

Standard
Serenity Now!

For the second day in a row, Andy is sitting beside me watching a YouTube video of NFL players being ridiculously dubbed.

It’s hilarious. I know this, of course, because he’s cackling away to himself like some sort of half-deranged hyena.

I find this cruel in the extreme because I’m still 23 days away from being allowed to watch television in any form (not that anyone’s counting) and I wanna see!

Generally, I’m finding this “No TV challenge” pretty easy. I’ve gotten through a few Top 100 movies and even gone to the movies a couple of times (‘Hitchcock’ was thoroughly disappointing but it beats staring at a blank black box on the wall).

Ironically, it was during the ads of that very movie where I learned about this “little” beauty:

The *90 INCH* Sharp Aquas LED TV

Behold! The 90 INCH Sharp Aquos LED TV

Yes, this thing is wider than Ian Thorpe is tall. The remote is probably the size of his foot BECAUSE BOTH OF THOSE THINGS MAKE PERFECT SENSE.

Even I will admit that this is taking things a little far. Our 50 inch TV is already ridiculously large for our small flat. I don’t think we’d even be able to get this thing through the door!

It would certainly make going to the movies redundant however (which would be just as well, considering the last 3 cinemas I’ve gone too have had a distinct smell of urine about them). Which reminds me of the time I was at a movie marathon and two stoners broke in through the emergency exit. One sat on the ledge just under the screen and started telling jokes – which was funny… until the other one started peeing in the corner. That cinema stunk for years (and probably still does). Good times.

I’ve failed to do much that’s constructive in my additional spare time. I started my book – then promptly stopped again. I’ve been on a couple of long runs – but it’s not enough to prepare me for the half marathon I’m supposed to compete in this May. All in all, I’m no more or less productive than I was before. I guess it just goes to show that you can lead Amanda away from the TV – but you can’t make her think.

Andy’s started a list of YouTube videos I have to watch as soon as my ban is lifted. What else have I been missing out on?

4 responses »

  1. That lip synch is as funny as … The good news it will be waiting for you when it’s all over with the TV thing. Unlike say, naighbours.

    • Hahaha this YouTube video is getting the biggest build up ever! It better be as funny as everyone says it is or I’m going to descend into a dark spiral of TV-doubt and be forced to watch ‘Here Comes Honey Boo Boo!’ on repeat until forcibly hospitalised.

What do you think?

