Wake up to yourself

Standard
Wake up to yourself

As I previously mentioned, my sister and her boyfriend (who we affectionately refer to as “Jam Master J” for reasons either unknown to me or best forgotten) gifted Andy and I a wakeboarding experience as an engagement present.

As I approach the big three-oh (165 days to go – not that anyone’s counting), I am starting to feel my age. Gifts like that really make me feel a whole lot better because they make me feel like I am still young enough for someone to think it’s a good idea.

I’m just wondering whether I’ll still be thinking it’s such a good idea at around 11am this Sunday, when Andy and I embark on said wakeboarding experience.

I mean, really, what was I thinking? Andy’s sister Ally (the one who ambitiously set this as one of my 30 challenges to complete before I’m 30), really should know better. After all, we’ve been skiing together. And by “skiing together” I do mean “getting concussion together”.

I know nothing about wakeboarding, although I assume it’s kinda like snowboarding. But I’m pretty useless at snowboarding too (and the landings are probably softer).

Why do I have the distinct feeling that the only move I’ll be learning this weekend is the “Epic Faceplant”?

The Beach Boys (who probably know as much about surfing as I do about wakeboarding) will provide the perfect soundtrack for the adventure:

“Heheheheheheee wipe oooout!”

Andy and I had a discussion last night about the most “extreme” things we’d ever done. Andy managed to come up with “racing a motorbike at Eastern Creek”, “downhill mountain biking a triple black diamond run at Whistler”, “flying a plane”, and “rock climbing a 15 metre cliff with no rope” (and that’s just for starters).

Me? The best I could come up with was jumping off “The Rock” at Jamberoo. All 5 metres of it.

If I really am getting as old as my “fine lines and wrinkles” suggest, I’m going to have to cram in some more adventure, and fast! You might even say I have the need… the need for speed!

What’s the most extreme thing you’ve ever done?

4 responses »

What do you think?

