Guest Post: “2001 a space odyssey is…”

Standard
Guest Post: “2001 a space odyssey is…”

By Ryan L.

Being the caring, sharing family that we are, we (Amanda’s siblings and one sibling-in-law) decided to help with one of her most difficult challenges yet – watching one of her ‘top 100’ movies of all time – 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Top 100 *what* is an interesting concept in this case. I’m sure Amanda would agree – it is very unclear what criteria this list of movies was judged on, so I guess we can only fall back to the technically correct interpretation of this label; “A numerically descending ordered list of 100 movies, from a discrete set of movies, for which the most number of people have clicked a button nominating it as their favourite.”

This is really the only criterion by which ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ could ever make it to the Top 100 of anything, and I can honestly say that the only good thing about this film was that it eventually ended. [I assume, we couldn’t actually make it through the whole 2.5 hours as a team, so I guess Amanda will have to suck it up on her own for the latter half].

Anyway, as to the movie itself, I’m going to let another arbitrary list act as the review for this one; “Top 4 phrases by which people have input to Google to find more information on this film”:

2001 a space odyssey is terrible
This movie is utter bollocks. QED.

What did you think of Ryan’s review? Let us know in the comments below!

Update: In view of early feedback to my review, and to qualify my position further, I would like to include the following references:

modern art is rubbish

12 responses »

    • Perhaps I should qualify my opinion by adding that I also find little entertainment or enjoyment in visiting modern art museums. This movie is pretty much an animated version of the rubbish that decorates the walls of many of those. πŸ™‚

    • I assume you’re referring to the mind-altering properties of the same giant black obelisk that sent those monkeys into a spin? I’ve been trying to find one…. closest I could find was an iPad – want to lend me one of yours? πŸ˜›

What do you think?

