I’ll have a blue, blue, blue, blue Christmas

Standard
I’ll have a blue, blue, blue, blue Christmas

I’ve always been a little jealous of our friends in the Northern Hemisphere… at least, when it comes to Christmas. The thought of a white Christmas sends me quite green with envy. Perhaps it’s because of all the Christmas carols and Christmas TV specials that have wormed their way into my heart over the years. “6 White Boomers” never stood a chance.

Then again… Frosty the Snowman might be alright, but he’s got nothing on a “Blue Christmas”!

You’ll be doin’ all right, with your Christmas of white,
But I’ll have a blue, blue, blue, blue Christmas…

Yes, this year, I took to the water like a duck with 30 challenges to complete before its 30th birthday! Under the scorching red hot Australian sun I had a red hot go at list items number 3, ‘Finish your scuba diving course‘ and number 5, ‘Catch, kill and cook an animal of some variety‘.

Here is the photographic evidence!

Unfortunately, I still have 2 days of open water dives to complete before I’m officially qualified as a diver. I’ve also still got to catch something larger than a fish finger if I’m going to cook and eat the thing. I must admit, I didn’t try out the neighbours’ epic slip ‘n’ slide, but I did enjoy watching them try to foist 7 children down it at once! Nevertheless, the holidays for me normally mean eating myself stupid and curling up somewhere (relatively) quiet to sleep it off. This year, I managed to squeeze in some water sports too! Besides the whopper you see in the photo above, I got plenty of nibbles that made the fishing trip quite fun – and now that we’ve christened the (future) in-laws’ boat, I’m sure we’ll get plenty more opportunities!

There is nothing more satisfying than the sleep that comes after a busy day in the sun. I feel the green of my white Christmas envy fading into the blue of of my Australian Christmas and the red of my latest sunburn…

I hope you all had a fantastic Christmas! I’m sad to say I’ve fallen just shy of my halfway goal of 15 items, with only 13 down and 17 left to go. It’s going to be a busy 2013… I wish you all a similarly productive and adventurous year ahead! How did you spend your Christmas this year?

What do you think?

