Remote control

Standard
Remote control

It is at about this time of day that I might usually tune into good old Dr Phil.

Instead, Andy has commandeered the TV, and (with just a hint of a smirk) informed me that “I’m going to be watching a documentary on the TV so don’t come out”.

Good! I’ll just sulk in here instead then!

So far the lack of TV has not proven too difficult to bear. Last night we went out for Andy’s birthday, and we’re doing the same again tonight, so I really haven’t had much time to think about it.

On the other hand, I did spend a very, very loooong Sunday racking my brain for things to do (when I would have preferred to watch zombies eating brains instead). It was the first Sunday I’d had in a while where I didn’t have 1,000 things planned.

TV-less, I turned the house upside-down with new activity. I tested out our new vacuum (an engagement gift – who knew we’d been living in such FILTH?), I spent some time very unsuccessfully Christmas shopping, I made sushi from scratch (and then ate it), I finished my Christmas decorations, walked to the shops twice, spent the average butterfly’s lifespan on Pinterest, finished editing a murder mystery short film that we shot back in June or July, and got about 1/7 of the way through the unabridged dictionary-sized book, Shantaram (in preparation for my trip to India!)

Phew!

I guess I prefer when my life is a hive of activity. I rarely stop. When I do stop, I become instantly grumpy and proclaim to anyone who’ll listen that I’m desperately BORED! It might be nice to have some time to stop and think for a change.

It’s Day 3 of the challenge now and my biggest hope is that my “no TV” time will help me get started on this book I’m supposed to write. At the moment, I haven’t written a single word. I have several ideas, but I’m not happy enough with any of them to commit.

I thought writing a book in a year would be hard… writing a book in 6 months is going to be close to impossible!

What would you do if you suddenly had a bunch of spare time up your sleeve?

8 responses »

What do you think?

