Merry Christmas ya filthy animal

Standard
Merry Christmas ya filthy animal

Today is the first day of the rest of my life… but it’s also the first day I give up TV for 2 months! (List item number 14, courtesy of my bff, Tracey).

In fact, I tried to start the challenge yesterday, but forgot, and accidentally ended up watching The Morning Show (my loyalty to Larry Emdur shall henceforth never waiver). It included a very engaging piece on “Extreme Cougars” (and not the four-legged kind either). It was both disturbing and enthralling.

But that’s TV!

Of course, I was still reeling from missing the final episode of Neighbours for the year. I had my whole evening planned out and then my equally fanatical Neighbours fan of a friend’s tyre exploded in protest and I was stranded in Milsons Point.

Bummer.

Thankfully, it so happened that it was also the worst episode of the year. Poor Lucas, unlucky in love, can’t catch a break and Toadie? Well, Toadie will be spending the Summer non-ratings period staring down the barrel of a stillbirth, which is absolutely the most awful thing to happen on the show since his last wife accidentally drove of a cliff on their wedding day.

I’m glad I missed it.

I already feel a sense of freedom brought on by the injection of countless hours of additional spare time and, with my two favourite shows (Neighbours and the Walking Dead) finishing up for the year, I can finally release myself from the vice-like grip of the television and engage in worthier pursuits… Like decorating the house!

This morning I headed out to the local hardware store, bought myself my first ever staple gun, and finally put the finishing touches on my Christmas decorations. What do you think?

I’m quite proud of my effort. Sure, it’s not a patch on the Christmas lights down the road, which have been drawing a crowd every year for the past two or three decades, but it’s cheery nonetheless.

I really don’t think I’m addicted to TV, and I don’t watch it as much as you might think. Sure, I get sucked into the Neighbours vortex on a semi-regular basis, and I practically jump out of my skin whenever a new Walking Dead episode is released… but, apart from that, I only watch TV if I’m bored – which I rarely am at the moment!

I can already see, however, what an absolute time waster TV is. There are so many amazing things I could do with half an hour that a semi-decent sitcom might prevent me from doing. Next up on the list? Smashing out about 8 hours of SCUBA eLearning in time for my brother to teach me the ropes this Christmas!

Do you think I’ll last without TV for 2 whole months? How do you think you’d fare on the challenge?

19 responses »

    • Tracey’s rules state :“Amanda cannot willingly and knowingly watch TV or TV show in any format on any device or by any other sneaky means I haven’t yet thought about. Exceptions include going to the movies and watching one of the top 100 movies currently on her challenge list”. So no computer watching for me!

      I could certainly READ the news, but I hate the news so it’s not really an issue for me! All I can really do is watch my remaining 30 movies or go to the movies 🙂

  1. Define TV. Is it anything to do with TV? DVD, games etc. or just TV shows? Like are you literally not allowed to turn the TV on for anything?

    • Tracey’s rules are as follows: “Amanda cannot willingly and knowingly watch TV or TV show in any format on any device or by any other sneaky means I haven’t yet thought about. Exceptions include going to the movies and watching one of the top 100 movies currently on her challenge list”. At least I’ll have the remaining 30 movies to keep me warm at night!

  2. WoW this one has generated the most blog comments ever!. So if Andy is watching something and you “accidentally” see a reflection in a nearby window or mirror……(there must be a loophole to this insanity?!

What do you think?

