Horses for Courses

Standard
Horses for Courses

Today, the “race that stops a nation” put pause to the busiest work day of my year. Where breakfast, Doctor Phil and lunch failed, the Melbourne Cup succeeded, and Andy and I enjoyed a brief interlude at the local watering hole to watch the race.

As is his style, Andy made no bets. He doesn’t believe in gambling and I’m told it has something to do with some distant relative losing a Scottish castle in a bet. Which is as good a reason as any to avoid flushing quantities of money down the toilet just because pretty ladies are wearing hats (but no shoes), and all the men are drunk.

I, on the other hand, did my national duty and sacrificed a crisp pineapple to the Turf Gods and I was duly rewarded when, for the first time in my life, I actually had a win on the Melbourne Cup!

Some might put this down to luck, but I put it down to my new betting style. You see, it used to be all about the colour of the jerseys. This year I had a new strategy…

This year my bets were based on the horses names! Given the list I just had to bet on ‘Unusual Suspect’ even though, at 301:1, it had a snowflake’s chance in hell of paying off (then again, if it had paid off it would have put a decent dent in my Madison Square Garden savings).

I had a trifecta too, but that was no good.

The win came in the form of third place for Jakkalberry, which I chose specifically because I could imagine its name being called out by the announcer as the hooves crossed the line. A ridiculous theory, perhaps, but a ridiculous theory that tripled my outlay!

“Winner, winner, moderately-priced chicken dinner”.

Anyway, the cash will come in very handy this week because I’m off to the Goldie to celebrate my dear friend Alana’s last birthday before becoming a Mrs!

But don’t let that fool you into thinking I’ve forgotten about the list! Far from it!

Tomorrow I plan to tick of list item number 7, ‘Swim with a dolphin’, courtesy of dolphin trainer Alana herself!

At least, with my winnings, I now have the money to afford lunch at Sea World 😛

How do you intend to spend your (real or imaginary) Melbourne Cup winnings?

2 responses »

  1. This was the first year I didn’t have a bet, so I guess that’s a win for me 😉 I was too busy washing walls getting ready for the big move ;(

    Well done on the win and I can’t wait to see the dolphin swim! 😀

What do you think?

