Movie Review: No 66. Reservoir Dogs

Standard
Movie Review: No 66. Reservoir Dogs

Mr. Blonde: You ever listen to K-Billy’s “Super Sounds of the Seventies” weekend? It’s my personal favorite.

Surprise, surprise, yet another gangster film!

I’m very nearly running out of things to say about gangster films. I mean, Reservoir Dogs is a good film. My Dad says it makes his Top 10. It’s nowhere near my Top 10, but I’m sure it would rank in my Top 10 gangster films at least.

Let’s put it this way: If a Quarter Pounder is a “Royale with Cheese”, then Pulp Fiction is Reservoir Dogs… with cheese.

You may be impressed, as I was, to learn that Reservoir Dogs beats Pulp Fiction by just 4 F-bombs, with a littany of 269 of them. That’s 2.71 a minute (as opposed to Pulp Fiction’s 1.72 a minute).

For some reason I find that oddly impressive. Perhaps simply because it’s a ridiculously high number yet it doesn’t detract from the authenticity of the dialogue one bit.

Reservoir Dogs is good but it doesn’t feel particularly “special”… not after all the other gangster films I’ve seen lately. It’s got some cracking memorable scenes and the soundtrack is great (you’ll never appreciate Stealer’s Wheel’s ‘Stuck in the Middle with You’ quite the same way again), but it’s far from original. The plot has some great surprises and the characters are all well developed…

With this combination of quality elements I probably should have loved it.

I did really like it a lot, but I can’t say I loved it.

I will say this – it beats ‘Pulp Fiction’ clear out of the water.

7.5 pumpkins.

Have you seen ‘Reservoir Dogs? Do you agree with my review? Let me know in the comments below.

8 responses »

  1. I can’t express how much enjoyment I get from the gratuitous violence and blood lust without feeling a little bit ashamed but I do. I so do. I want to be Quentin Tarantino when I grow up.

  2. I really liked Reservoir Dogs – but I absolutely love the sound track and have played it to death over the years (it’s good party music!) 😉

    I’ve tried to watch Pulp Fiction twice and fell asleep half way through both times – hmmmm…

What do you think?

