Go jump!

Standard
Go jump!

It’s probably an obvious choice, but list item number 9 requires that I go skydiving and plummet (hopefully) feet-first into my thirties. This list item was submitted by my good friend Nick. Nick turns 30 exactly 7 days before I do so there are no prizes for guessing who I’ll be dragging along with me when I eventually take the leap!

I’ve never tried skydiving before and, quite frankly, I would have happily lived my whole life without trying it. Far be it for me to question the list so, Nick, thy will be done before 1 July 2013.

Unlucky 2013…

We’ll be safe though, right?

Having never tried it, it’s hard to say how I’ll react on the big day. I’m no more afraid of heights than your average person, but I’ve not won any awards for bravery either. I suspect I’ll approach the task with just the right number of butterflies (whose wings I will expect to sustain me aloft shall the parachute fail to open).

I’d love to tell you all that this is the scariest thing I’ve ever had to do and I’m mentally wetting my pants just thinking about it. I’d love you to all think that this will be a huge, life-altering experience for me and that I’ll somehow overcome my greatest fears and emerge a better person. Sadly, however, I don’t think that’s the case.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll scream like a stuck pig on the way down, and I’m sure I’ll need a bit of heave-ho to get me out the plane door. I just think it will end up being your average run-of-the-mill skydiving experience, complete with hilarious flappy-cheeked video footage (set to Bon Jovi’s ‘It’s my Life’ I hope) and a fervent desire on my part to “GO AGAIN!” as soon as I’ve hit the ground.

I think it was in 2010 that my younger brother took the far scarier step (at least, in my opinion) of bungee jumping off a waterfall in South Africa. I’ve often accused Dane of being a tad emotionless at times so it was unsurprising (yet still 100% awesome) to watch the video of him not only jumping off that ledge, but leaping off it with arms outstretched, as if performing an Olympic dive. The sheer coolness of it all makes me want to approach my skydive with the same level of enthusiasm. I know I’ll be a bit scared, but I also know I’ll jump. I simply value my pennies and pride too much to go all that way up in the plane only to come back down to Earth in the traditional “tray tables up” fashion.

If I’m going to jump, I may as well look awesome when I do it.

Have you ever been skydiving or bungee jumping? If not, wanna come along with me?

8 responses »

What do you think?

