No Fridge Challenge Day 5: Dead meat

Standard
No Fridge Challenge Day 5: Dead meat

It is almost dinner time on Day 5 of the No Fridge Challenge, and it is just occurring to me that I haven’t had lunch. Unsurprisingly, I don’t feel particularly great, although that may have more to do with the fact that all I’ve eaten all day is salted cashews.

I know I’ve done a lot of whingeing about the No Fridge Challenge so far, and I’ve no doubt you’re all getting pretty sick and tired of it. Possibly even as sick and tired as I am of salted snacks right now! But, it’s actually not the fridgeless factor that’s causing me to starve today…

No. There is another, far greater, threat to my health and I’m afraid if I don’t keep my voice down I might actually become dinner myself.

Come closer and I’ll whisper it to you…

Zombies are out to get me.

Please don’t be alarmed. They’re not so scary once you get to know them.

As one primary school teacher might have said, “they’re deaf, dumb and disobedient”. Half blind too.

Still, with rapidly declining health, low food and hydration levels, it’s hard to stay optimistic.

Run! Run! Run!

ZOMG. I’m dead.

Time to stand up, adjust my eyes from the glare of the computer monitor, and venture out into the real world for some real food and real hydration.

Zombie hunting is hard, but at least there’s a pretty spectacular view:

DayZ

SnowdropPanda surveying the zombie-ridden lands of a postapocalyptic Czech Republic

Yes, Andy’s propaganda finally got the better of me. I’m officially a “gamer chick”.

Well, I don’t know if two sessions of one zombie game qualifies me to the title, but Andy tells me I’m a natural. Where he survived a mere three minutes on his first attempt, I lasted well over an hour before being short by another, understandably paranoid, gamer.

Official title or no, the way I see it you can call yourself a gamer once you’ve reached the point where you’ve played so long you don’t realise it’s gotten dark outside.

Mission accomplished.

In fact, one of the cool things about this game is that it is set to “real time”. When the sun sets here, it sets there too, and then you ‘d better pray you’ve found some night vision goggles or you’re going to feel pretty lost.

The game is called ‘DayZ’, and as you can see from the above picture, it involves making your way around a highly realistic (and massive!) alternate world. There doesn’t seem to be much of an objective, apart from to stay alive… and navigate your way around towns full of zombies to gather supplies.

Really, the zombies are the least of your worries. It’s the other players you have to watch out for. Andy has vowed to find me and protect me, but with a massive 225km2 to navigate, it’s a task in itself just to find each other.

I tease Andy a lot about his gaming addiction (which, to be fair, is far more severe than he will allow himself to believe). I’ve never been much of a gamer. Even in real life, with real activities, I tend to bore well before the point of mastery. It’s therefore no surprise that I tire of games pretty quickly. This game, however, somewhat resembles the only computer game I’ve ever been addicted to: The Sims.

Playing The Sims I’ve been known to go for hours at a time so enthralled in the hunger, hygiene and bladder of my Sims that I forget to eat, shower, or relieve myself in real life. DayZ is a bit like that.

Better yet, in DayZ, “virtual reality me” also has to survive without the benefit of refrigeration, so it feels extra authentic. So far I’ve enjoyed cans of coke and tinned pasta. It’s food fit for a king when you’re fridgeless!

The game is quite challenging to play. Almost every key on the keyboard has a different function, which is difficult when your typical gaming strategy is to mash the pad until Chun-Li gets the message and scissor-kicks her opponent to death.

Still, it’s fun.

Worryingly fun.

I just hope we don’t end up like these two!

When Gamers Cuddle

“When Gamers Cuddle”

2 responses »

What do you think?

