Movie Review: No 4. Pulp Fiction

Standard
Movie Review: No 4. Pulp Fiction

I’d love to include a quote from the movie as I normally do, but there are children present and it’s hard to pick one out among the litany of F-bombs (265 to be exact) that punctuate this film.

Then again, there is this line:

You know what they call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?… They call it a Royale with cheese.

Apparently this was voted as the #81 of “The 100 Greatest Movie Lines” by Premiere in 2007, which should bring me some solace after crying out for a quotable quote with ‘The Departed’.

You have got to be kidding me.

My mother would tell you that my siblings and I practically subsist on movie and television quotes alone. I’m therefore something of a conoisseur and I can tell you my personal Top 100 list would be approaching the length of Santa’s “naughty” list before I ever got to such an insipid line. Don’t tell me there is a single one of you who thinks it should have beat out “I’ll be back” (which came in at number 95) or “You can’t handle the truth” (number 92).

Give me just a small break (and a giant red pen).

I will come right out and admit that I did not get this movie. Where’s the appeal? By now we’re all well and truly comfortable with the fact that gangster movies aren’t my thing… but it’s more than that. I’ve had people from all walks of life recommend this movie to me. I’ts number 4 on the Top 100 list for crying out loud!

It’s hard to dub something a movie when (after the opening sequence at least) the first half moves painfully slower than a dead snail over broken glass. Surely even the diehard fans will agree that the first half of this film is a complete waste of time? A short Travolta dancing scene is your one reward for sitting through it, so unless you love John Travolta so much you get a Saturday Night Fever just thinking about him, then you’re going to be disappointed.

Although the first half of the film bored me to the point of switching it off and going to bed at 9.30 on a Friday night, I’d have to say my favourite part does fall within that first half. That was the exchange between Vince and Jules regarding foot massages (sole reason being it went on for so long that eventually it prompted Andy to give me a foot massage. Subliminal messaging at its best!)

The second half is action-packed to be sure, but the blood and guts thing is no longer shocking to me after so many gangster films, and once the shock factor is gone there’s very little appeal left to this film. I felt like I was watching a high school art project turned in by a group of over-zealous teenage boys. Quentin Tarantino loved his own film so much he cast himself in it, which just speaks to the teenage-hormone-level thinking that went into the film.

I don’t know, I feel like I should accept that “641,882 imdb voters can’t be wrong”, but then, they’ve gotten it wrong so many times already! Watching the film, I became quite nervous about writing this review because I knew it would be controversial and I knew it would expose me to the wrath of a thousand teenage-boy-brained film fans.

Go easy on me guys…

4 sewer rat-flavoured pumpkins.

Have you seen ‘Pulp Fiction’? Do you agree with my review? Let me know how wrong I am and why in the comments below.

11 responses »

  1. I do not agree that the first half is slow paced at all! Obviously drawn out Tarantino dialogue about McDonalds isn’t for everyone but the “Does Marcellus Wallace look like a bitch?” exchange is the most simultaneously funny and shocking scene of any movie ever.

    Everyone is entitled to their opinions, but your opinions just happen to be wrong :p

    • I would argue that it’s not even the most simultaneously funny and shocking scene in this movie, much less any movie ever… or have you forgotten the car scene?

      I will concede, however, that I did appreciate the line “Oh I’m sorry, did I break your concentration?”

      • Yes. Arguably an equally if not better shock-factor funny scene. And it’s in the same movie you say.

        Wow. Let me go reconsider my opinion…

      • Presumably none of the ones already mentioned… How about “Well, if you like burgers give ’em a try sometime. I can’t usually get ’em myself because my girlfriend’s a vegetarian which pretty much makes me a vegetarian.”?

  2. P.S. Tarantino appears in several of his films. And does a pretty good job in most of them. Narcissism? Probably. But then again didn’t Hitchcock do something similar?

  3. And another thing! You say this isn’t a “movie” because it goes “slower than a snail on broken glass”. Didn’t you rate 12 Angry Men 10 pumpkins????

    I don’t get you.

What do you think?

