Movie Review: No 28. The Usual Suspects

Standard
Movie Review: No 28. The Usual Suspects

Verbal Kint: The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.

The ‘Usual Suspects’ falls into line appropriately with the cavalcade of gangster films in the imdb Top 100. I’ve seen more gangster films than any other genre so far and there are yet more to come! ‘Taxi Driver’, ‘Reservoir Dogs’, ‘LA Confidential’, ‘Pulp Fiction’… the list goes on and on and on!

Those gangsters are definitely up to something… and I know exaclty who’s behind it all…

Keyser Söze.

Verbal Kint: He lets the last Hungarian go. He waits until his wife and kids are in the ground and then he goes after the rest of the mob. He kills their kids, he kills their wives, he kills their parents and their parents’ friends. He burns down the houses they live in and the stores they work in, he kills people that owe them money. And like that he was gone. Underground. Nobody has ever seen him since. He becomes a myth, a spook story that criminals tell their kids at night. “Rat on your pop, and Keyser Söze will get you.” And no-one ever really believes.

So, Keyser Söze is like the reverse Santa Claus, the evil boogeyman under your bed, and the mystery of exactly “Who is Keyser Söze?” lies at the very heart of this film’s plot.

Now, I can’t say I didn’t enjoy the film, largely because I would be shot in the brain for doing so (if I’ve assumed correctly and the imdb gangster skew really is the result of a genuine mob plot).

‘The Usual Suspects’ is a thoroughly likeable film with plenty of action and a Law & Order style interrogation weaving together the pieces of the story, as told by Kevin Spacey’s character, Verbal Kint. It was great to see Kevin Spacey doing what he does best and Benecio Del Toro’s comic relief was a welcome addition. It took me several minutes of gazing into Michael McManus’ baby blues before my itchy GTS finger got the better of me and I was forced to Google the actor’s name. Of course, it wouldn’t be a Hollywood classic without a Baldwin, and Stephen Baldwin does a bang up job of helping us forget that just a year later he was the star of stoner flick ‘Bio-Dome’ alongside king of stoner comedy, Pauly Shore and Australia’s sweetheart Kylie Minogue.

To be honest, given that this film is a Hollywood classic, I was expecting to know more quotes or plot points. Somehow this film has managed to slip completely under my radar for the past 29 years and the only relic I had was the quote that appears at the top of this post (which is actually a Charles Baudelaire quote anyway).

You know when you hear a word you haven’t heard in a while and suddenly it’s in every ad on television and all around you? I feel like that’s what is going to happen to me after watching ‘The Usual Suspects’. All of a sudden I’m going to hear the name “Keyser Söze” all around me – not because it’s being said more – but just because when it was said I never paid attention.

I feel somewhat richer for having seen this movie. It’s most definitely what I like to call “a boy movie”, but nevertheless held my interest throughout and I’d gladly watch it again.

7.5 pumpkins.

Have you seen ‘The Usual Suspects’? Do you agree with my review? Let me know in the comments below.

2 responses »

What do you think?

