Movie Review: No 100. The Sting

Standard
Movie Review: No 100. The Sting

Hanging on by the skin of its teeth there at number 100 on the imdb top 100 movies of all time list is ‘The Sting’ starring Paul Newman and Robert Redford (although, as I look at the list today it has miraculously risen to number 99).

Yet another gangster movie. Can you hear my teeth grinding with frustration from here?

The prevalence of gangster movies in the Top 100 is starting to look very suspicious to me. How many rom-coms had to get whacked to make that happen? How many Hollywood heart-throbs had to get punched – POW! – right in the kisser?!

To be fair, the film is more ‘Oliver!’ for adults than ‘Goodfellas’, yet I can’t help but feel like the gangsters are pulling one over on us even now by seeing every one of their films rise to the Top 100 list.

Much like Cary Grant was the George Clooney of his day, Robert Redford was definitely the Brad Pitt. Unfortunately for me, I’ve never had much of a thing for Brad Pitt, so the charm is lost to me (I saw a crazed bearded homeless-looking man in him long before Angelina hit the scene). And Redford? Well, he talks to animals. ‘Nuff said.

‘The Sting’ is a fun little film about a big con and it gets better the further into it you get. I found it a tad Dickensian, in the sense that it had far too many characters for me to keep track of (I’ve been known to drawn “family trees” for myself while reading Dickens just to sort the wives from the cousins – though that is not always necessary).

It’s the kind of film where you’re cheering for the baddies against the badder baddies. It plays out like a lesson in how to con someone out of millions of dollars, so for that reason it’s quite interesting.

Johnny Hooker: Luther said I could learn some things from you. I already know how to drink.

Fans of the famous Eccleston Family film ‘8 is enough, 10 is too much’ and the yet to be released ’10 is too much, 11 is too many’ will enjoy the “gloved hand” scenes dotted throughout.

All in all it was a good time but, for me, fell short of a “rollicking” good time which, for a movie in the Top 100, I have come to expect. Apparently the film was nominated for 10 Oscars, winning 7. Must have been a slow year.

6 counterfeit pumpkins.

Have you seen ‘The Sting’? Do you agree with my review? Let me know in the comments below.

4 responses »

  1. I remember I thought it was ok when we went on a school excursion to see it. Paul Newman was the George Clooney of his day too and they paired him up with RR again after their outstanding chemistry in Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. I must check if that’s on your list. there weren’t as many Rom coms back then and today there is too much of that fluff and they all seem the same. PS I don’t watch many movies but is Jennifer Aniston in all of them?

    • Jennifer Aniston is the WORST. I thought she was awesome as Rachel and then I realised she was just being herself.

      It’s an ok movie but definitely not “Top 100” for me…

What do you think?

