Pick a peck of extra pickly pickles for this Big Mac “Special Sauce” recipe…

Standard
Pick a peck of extra pickly pickles for this Big Mac “Special Sauce” recipe…

Tomorrow is the big day! The day when I get to make my very own McDonalds at home! In preparation I have have been re-watching the Dan Coudreaut video (in which he, as the Head Chef of McDonalds in Canada, reveals the ingredients of the “secret” Big Mac sauce).

Unfortunately, his revelations are quite vague. He doesn’t mention ingredient brands or quantities, so I had to play it by ear.

First up, I got my Ronald McDonald on by donning some red lipstick, like so:

Ronald McDonald

Note that I am also wearing my high school jersey. I figured it was appropriate given I am revisiting my childhood for this Top 30 list item.

Next, I assembled my ingredients based on the recommendations made in the video. All of the below ingredients were found at my local IGA:

Big Mac Special Sauce Ingredients

The wine is just for me 😉

Next, I studied the video to try and get a visual of the quatitites Dan Coudreaut used. After quite a bit of experimentation, I settled on the following measurements (making about 1 1/4 cups of sauce, which should be more than enough for 6 people):

  • 3/4 cup ‘Miracle Whip’ mayonnaise (selected due to a number of websites recommending this brand for the Big Mac sauce)
  • 1/2 cup ‘Three Threes’ sweet mustard pickles (I couldn’t locate “sweet pickle relish” so I substituted this)
  • 1 heaped tbsp ‘Masterfoods’ mild American mustard (the only brand of “yellow mustard” I could find)
  • 2 tsps ‘Maille’ white wine vinegar (I’m sure any brand would do, this was just what was available at my IGA)
  • 1 tsp ‘Master of Spices’ garlic powder (I’m sure any brand would do, this was just what was available at my IGA)
  • 1 tsp ‘GFresh’ onion powder (I’m sure any brand would do, this was just what was available at my IGA)
  • 1 1/2 tsps Masterfoods mild ground paprika (do NOT use ‘pimenton’ as the smokey flavour is not suited to the Special Sauce)

I simply whisked them all together and put the sause in the fridge ready for Big Mac assembly tomorrow! (Other online “special sauce” recipes I’ve read recommend leaving the sauce in the fridge overnight to really heighten the flavour).

Whisked

Getting whisked away

In hindsight, the ‘Sweet Mustard Pickles’ were probably a poor choice. Dan Coudreaut recommends ‘Sweet Pickle Relish’, which I could not find in my local IGA. Initially I thought this ingredient would substitute for both the “sweet pickle relish” and the “yellow mustard”, but it quickly became apparent that I would need the “yellow mustard” as well, so it was a quick trip up to the servo for me!

Yellow Mustard

Hot dog! We have a weiner!

I also initially tried ‘pimenton’ (a smokey type of paprika) since I had it in my pantry and I just love the cute tin it comes in so I use it every chance I get! (Weird, I know). While the pimenton turned the sauce the perfect shade of Big Mac yellow, the smokey flavour did not sit well with me.

Big Mac Sauce

As you can see, the sauce on the right is the perfect shade of “Soylent Yellow”, while the sauce on the left tastes more authentic

I think the pickles are really the key ingredient and I had to keep adding more to get a more accurate flavour. If I were to do this experiment again I would probably travel a bit further afield to find “sweet pickle relish” as recommended. I might even add some more pickles tomorrow.

All in all, I’m not particularly happy with my sauce. It doesn’t taste as authentic as I was expecting and I’m sure it’s the pickles that let me down. I’m hoping, however, that when it’s together with the rest of the Big Mac ingredients it will taste edible. My advice to anyone else considering this recipe is to pick a peck of “sweet pickle relish” and forget the “sweet mustard pickles”!

Speaking of pickles, and call me a complete moron if you will, but I had no idea that the “dill pickles” used on Maccas burgers are actually pickled cucumber! I thought… well… I thought they were pickled pickles! Turns out gherkins aren’t a separate vegetable, it’s just another name for pickled cucumber or “dill pickles”. Indeed, after coming to this realisation, I feel quite the dill myself!

I guess I just have to hope and pray that my various secret weapons get me over the line to give my “customers” a happy meal they won’t forget!

Have you worked in the Fast Food industry? What’s your most memorable customer encounter?

7 responses »

  1. my mouth is watering in anticipation of the delights of tomorrow night. I wish that only we had some garbage bags, duct tape and dish washing liquid to make it a true plymouth/Windsor childhood tribute.

    I must say, following this blog, the lipstick and the quantity of condiments, my expectations are high. not McDonald’s thornleigh high, but McDonald’s erina high. not quite west Gosford, because they have a train out the back for parties, but definitely higher than bateau bay. and I’m talking “eat in” expectations.

    p.s I hope there are free extra chips in the bags

  2. Masterfoods make a sweet pickle relish and sold at Coles and Woolworths – this is closer to the original recipe, however does have a small amount of whole grain mustard in it – which doesn’t change the flavour too much. Sweet (dill) pickle is actually also known as gherkin.

What do you think?

