Against the wind…

Standard
Against the wind…

I’m still runnin’ against the wind!

(Ok, I’ll try to refrain from starting my blog post with song lyrics next time, since that is more the realm of my father).

Seriously though, have you ever had a song stuck in your head for 40 minutes while you were doing the very thing the song was describing? And, when I say “song stuck in your head” I really do mean “the only 9 words of the song that you remember”…

We’ve been sticking to our running routine fairly solidly since our very first run on my birthday on 1 July. We had a little hiatus on our holiday to Cairns, but other than that I’ve been quite proud of our progress. I usually feel like rubbish during the run, but I’ve been recovering fairly quickly. Today, however, was a whole new world of pain!

Please bear in mind that the most cardio activity I’ve had in about a year is getting overly worked up about the happenings on Neighbours (the whole ‘Troy’/’Sonya potentially losing the baby’/’Toadie getting booted from Ramsay Street’ saga got my heart racing about as fast as it has since I last participated in regular exercise 2.5 years ago).

Today we smashed out 6.4 kms at an average speed of 10.1 km/hour, which I was extremely chuffed (and puffed) about! That’s well on track for my target average of 10.5 km/hr… although still well off the distance of 21 kms.

It helps that my boyfriend fiancé is some kind of machine, so he certainly pushes me along. Would you believe that, while I was stumbling along and wheezing with every step of those 6.4 kms, he was challenging himself to 100m sprints?!

Show off.

I have to be nothing but grateful though, because I’m sure, had I gone it alone, I would not have achieved that pace today. Sure, I nearly collapsed at the end, and sure, my face is “50 shades of purple” right now, but it was worth it when I did the calculations and discovered that we’d kept pace for the whole distance (and beaten our previous time on the same route with an extra 200m up our sleeves)!

It is not uncommon, on these runs, to hear me puffing out “I. don’t. know. how. I’m. ever. going. to. make. 21. k’s”… but I suppose I will (eventually).

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go and die quietly in a corner somewhere.

What are your fitness goals? How do you stay motivated?

9 responses »

  1. Just wanted to say that I started the blog-post-as-song-title-in-GetJealous phenomenon in 2006. Kevin ‘borrowed’ it, the same way that I ‘borrowed’ your description of self-taken photos as “©Selfies”.

    • Brings new meaning to the term “greatful dead”… or does it? I’m not quite sure. My heart is still at around 100 BPM, which far outstrips my two-finger 30 WPM typing speed…

      I blame the tiredness for this one 😉

  2. My fitness goal is to run a half marathon too. I stay motivated by imagining myself as the 96kg blimp I was in 2004. Step 1 is to run 7km like I was doing back in 2006/7 but it will be a gradual process. Keep it up. You now have a wedding dress as a motivator as well.

    • The wedding dress is the best motivator ever!! It’s even helped me say “no” to a cheeseburger (an almost impossible feat!)

      Can’t wait to run the halfer with you Daddy Daycare xo

  3. I’m an exercise guru – I jog, cycle, ski and hoola-hoop every afternoon on my Wii-fit and finish it off with a glass of wine.
    The song that plays over in my head? “There’s a giant doing cartwheels, a statue wearing high heels Doo, doo, doo, Looking out my back door..”

What do you think?

