Guest Post: 2 months with no TV makes Amanda… something, something

Standard
Guest Post: 2 months with no TV makes Amanda… something, something

By Tracey

Amanda recently asked me to write a guest post for her blog and by recently, I mean 3 weeks ago. Hi, my name is Tracey and I’m lazy.

I met Amanda when I was 14, so we have been friends for ‘a while’ now. Sure, I’m not as old as her but our age difference has never challenged our friendship. I clearly remember the first time I met Amanda, it was in year 8 Religion when she made a wildly inappropriate joke and then continued to argue with Miss Mushroom Haircut about the validity of the joke. I laughed so loud (‘lol’ for the young folks) and long that we both ended up in serious trouble. I knew immediately that this was the kind of influence I wanted to have through my important and formative high school years.

Over our many years of friendship we have had the best of times and the blurst of times. We’ve had fun like friends, fought like sisters and engaged in behaviour worthy of four padded walls and plastic cutlery. We have even managed to snag men who are best friends…so convenient! When Amanda asked me to write a guest post I was happy she trusted me enough not to roast her on her own blog. Silly Amanda.

*paragraph deleted by aLohan*

Those of you who know me will attest that I have informally lived my predictably un-inspired life by two mottos “never do today what you can put off until tomorrow” and “a girl’s gotta eat”. You can imagine my surprise when Amanda nominated me as an ‘inspirational friend’. I was so honoured in fact that I gave a lot of thought to how I could challenge the girl who always aces the test (..except when I kicked her ass in Modern History) and still isn’t afraid to put love hearts over her ‘i’s’ at the ‘ripe’ age of 29.

"Modern Historians"
“Modern Historians”
(Editor’s note: Check out Tracey’s “Prefect Badge”)

It was around the time Amanda asked me to nominate a challenge that the intense connection she had to “Neighbours” was becoming apparent. Facebook posts of her obsession were surfacing and she started to comment on the official neighbours Facebook page, suggesting plots and character romances. The truly troubling spectrum of intense emotion and the dizzying frenzy whipped up when ‘Neighbours’ was mentioned became confronting. Something had to be done.

It was decided.

“My challenge for you is to not watch TV at all for 2 months. You can either do 2 consecutive months or you can do 2 x 1 month stints”

The questions rolled in…questions you know come from a place of deep fear and panic, the kind of hypothetical questions you spend your entire Desgin & Technology class mulling over. Ridiculous questions like “…but what if Taylor Hanson killed a chicken, would you still pash? ( or ‘necking’, for the older folks)

“What if I’m at the pub and there’s a TV on the wall and I accidentally glance at it while I’m ordering the most un-adventurous meal on the menu?”

“What if I watch it on a laptop?”

“What if I’m at a friend’s house and we want to watch a movie but I can’t! What if they have a projector and it’s projected onto a wall…that’s not TV”

It was about this time that my eyes glazed over and I wished my challenge was to make me pinwheels every week for the rest of the year.

After intense negotiations and Chinese food that would continue to haunt me for hours, the parameters of the challenge were established “Amanda cannot willingly and knowingly watch TV or TV show in any format on any device or by any other sneaky means I haven’t yet thought about. Exceptions include going to the movies and watching one of the top 100 movies currently on her challenge list”

I am yet to hear when the 2 month challenge will start but I look forward to hearing, reading and hopefully co-experiencing the many exciting adventures that will ensue.

What did you think of Tracey’s contribution to the list? Let us know in the comments below!

What do you think?

