I’m just wild about Larry!

Standard
I’m just wild about Larry!

… and he’s just wild about (cannot do without) he’s just wild about meeeee!

At least, I assume so, because my sister Claire and I have been invited to attend a taping of ‘The Price is Right’ on 31 July!

Then again, it might have more to do with my desperate online entry, which, if I recall correctly, included a rant about needing to hug Larry before I turned 30… Kinda creepy in hindsight… but then, this is television.

Either way, it means I’m one step closer to ticking off list item number 19, ‘Compete on a game show’.

Claire says “near enough is good enough”, so attending the taping will be sufficient to tick this off my “to do” list. But, I don’t know that I’m comfortable letting it slide that easily! I haven’t watched the show lately (although I plan to bone up on it now). History tells me, however, that the more enthusiastic I am, the more likely it is that I will be selected for the show.

I’m not quite middle-aged yet, which is a bit of a shame because that seems to be the demographic of most contestants. It’s the jiggle-factor – the more you jiggle, the more likely it is you’ll be selected.

Being more of the “sharp” variety (2:39), I’ll just have to come up with some other plan…

A printed t-shirt is an absolute must. Right now I’m tossing up between the classic “I ♥ Larry” and “Mrs Emdur”, but I’m also taking suggestions? I figure bright colours and a bit of lippy won’t go astray for the cameras. I’m also leaning towards flat shoes so that I don’t completely dwarf short-stack Larry. I might even head to Big W beforehand to get the latest goss on all the prices….

Ouch…. I just felt a wrinkle form! Maybe I’m more middle-aged than I thought? (Not that there’s anything wrong with that…)

I have absolutely no aspirations to win anything. Claire tells me the prize values have come down a bit since the heady days of the 90s anyway. I’m fully prepared to completely embarass myself for nothing more than the joy of getting on that stage and ticking off list item number 19 in front of the whole of Australia.

I know some of you are ex game show contestants yourselves (U. Herb? U. Chewy? Juliette?) Is there any advice you can give me about how to guarantee myself a spot on Australian television? Talent is clearly out. Any other suggestions?

Have you been on TV, or just watched plenty of it? Do you have any advice for an aspiring gameshow contestant? Let me know in the comments below!

13 responses »

  1. I’ll be there too!
    Perhaps if we should all say that we came because it’s been your dream to go on the price is right since you were little? Might increase your odds

  2. I watched a bloopers video once where the chosen contestant was wearing a boob tube. Amongst the excitement of being selected and subsequent raising her arms over her head, her top came off as she was running down the stairs. So if you wear a similar top, they might choose you in the hope of this embarrassing situation occurring.

    • If flashing is approved (see above) then I don’t see the harm! Haha

      Andy and Dane are joining us as well. Hopefully that will improve our odds!

      I watched it today, the prizes are pretty tragic but the crowd was quite subdued so I like our chances of getting picked 🙂

  3. How about the boob tube with ‘come on down’ written on the front 🙂 Flat shoes are a must and no short skirts (in case you trip going down those stairs). Have a great time and wave your arms a lot so we can see you 🙂

    • Haha! So tragic – I love it! There will be plenty of arm flailing. Oh, and based on my experience at the 2011 Biggest Loser finale I’m not going to wear any rings (they made us clap so much I ended up bruised!)

  4. Your moment in the sun is getting closer. Boob tube, flashing, screaming and yelling? What about the sob story “I’m doin’ it for my Dad!” Just don’t mention the extensive European tour he is now on!

What do you think?

